Children's Aid Society Services, child welfare, access services, family support, adoption, childcare, child protection, foster care, residential services, intake services, training and support

Services d’admission liés à la protection

Des conflits entre adultes peuvent impliquer tout adulte ou groupe d’adultes dans le foyer. La violence familiale a de graves répercussions émotionnelles sur les enfants et constitue une forme de mauvais traitements d’ordre affectif.  La violence familiale est essentiellement un acte physique; les enfants peuvent courir un risque direct ou indirect de préjudices corporels. (37, 2, a, b, f, g, LSEF telle qu’amendée).

Tous les signalements à une SAE sont examinés pour y détecter toute incidence de violence familiale. Le rôle de la SAE est d’intervenir lorsque le comportement ou la victimisation d’un adulte a une incidence directe ou observable sur la sécurité et le bien‐être d’un enfant, une situation dans laquelle l’enfant a subi des sévices ou risque de subir de mauvais traitements physiques, sexuels ou affectifs, ou de la négligence en raison de la violence au foyer. Ce conflit peut exister entre parents, grands‐parents ou quiconque agit en tant que pourvoyeur de soins pour l’enfant ou les enfants.

En cas d’hésitations quant au bien-fondé d’un signalement, vous pouvez en parler d’abord avec un(e) intervenant(e) à l’accueil ou un(e) travailleur(se) social(e) à la protection de l’enfance de la SAE.  Les renseignements identificatoires doivent toutefois être communiqués au/à la travailleur(se) précité(e), s’il ou si elle indique que l’incident doit être signalé en vertu de la loi.

Children's Aid Society Services: Family Support, Adoption, Childcare, Child Protection, Family Services, Foster Care and Residential, Child Welfare

Protection Intake Services

Adult conflict can involve any adults or combination of adults within the home. Violence in the family has a severe emotional impact on children and is a form of emotional maltreatment. Family violence is predominantly a physical act; children can be directly and indirectly at risk of physical harm. (37, 2, a, b, f, g, CFSA as amended).

All referrals to a CAS are screened for domestic violence. The role of CAS is to intervene where adult behaviour or victimization has a direct or observable impact on a child’s safety and well being, where the child has either been harmed or is at risk of being abused physically, sexually, emotionally or neglected because of domestic violence. This conflict can be between parents, grandparents or anyone acting as caregivers to the child(ren).

In cases of uncertainty as to the appropriateness of a referral, you have the option of speaking first with an Intake Screener or child protection worker at the Children’s Aid Society. The identifying information however must be given to the worker forthwith if the child protection worker advises that the incident is reportable under the legislation.